My Journey Toward Becoming a Vet Tech

Hello Friends,

Today I was reminded of just how far I have come in this journey. I was looking through my Facebook memories over the last couple of days, and I realized just how hard I had to work to complete my externships part of my education with Penn Foster. Today (April 5th) was also the anniversary of getting my degree from Penn Foster in the mail. I can still remember when I got the “unofficial” news that I was a Vet Tech graduate. I was between shifts at my clinic at the time, and I had been having a rather difficult day. I remember checking my email like any other normal day, when I saw the best possible news. I had done it. I had completed my degree and become and Penn Foster Vet Tech graduate.

The months that would follow would be some of the most difficult I would face. Life happened, and I was forced to change up my professional ties. I also struggled in preparing for the hardest exam of my life, the VTNE. That test was both a challenge and a blessing. I learned so much about myself as I prepared to take this exam. I worked my heart out, and after my second attempt I realized my dream of becoming an official Vet Tech (RVT) in the state of Georgia. I also would soon land a job at a new clinic, where I have been now just over 14 months.

This last year has taught my that I am capable of more than I give myself credit for. It has taught me the importance of asking for help whenever I need it. I am exhausted, but blessed. This journey toward becoming a Vet Tech isn’t over. I know that I still have much to learn. But my confidence and skills have improved greatly over these last few months in particular. I have been doing a LOT of thinking over the last couple of months about my professional goals and where I see myself aspiring to.

I have a habit of writing down goals and dreams in my Start Today Journal, and over the last month or so I have been writing down that “I will be a Rockstar Vet Tech daily.” This practice is a reminder to me about how far I’ve come, but also how much room I have for improvement. What does it look like for me to be a rockstar vet tech. I believe that each day it means that I am giving my best toward my job and that I am constantly seeking to improve professionally. It means that I am not afraid to ask for help, or am expected to be perfect. Since I began this practice I have noticed a shift in my mindset that has helped me remember why I do what I do and why I chose this career path. There have been many days where I have wondered to myself if I’m crazy for my professional choices, but when I am reminded of my WHY I am newly inspired to continue to chase my dreams, and to help inspire others to do the same.

So here’s to my first official year (and change) of being a Vet Tech (RVT) and cheers to many more!

2 thoughts on “My Journey Toward Becoming a Vet Tech

  1. Congrats on your anniversary! As someone who has been licensed for a few years now, I totally understand how much can change in such a short period of time, especially with COVID. I am just starting up my own blog of personal goals and experiences, so it was nice to see someone else out here!

    Like

Leave a comment